PRIVATE RESCUES

Not all shelters are created equal! Regardless of the size or type of shelter, all the animals in their care should be well cared for. A small budget is no excuse for unsanitary or overcrowded living conditions. All organizations should be upfront with their euthanasia policy - make sure you support an organization that shares your philosophies on quality of life and provides the best possible care within their means.

It is common for most private rescues to carefully screen applicants in order to ensure their animals go to responsible homes. If you are not approved, carefully consider the organization’s concerns. A responsible rescue will educate all adopters on finding the right match.

The following organizations are provided for your convenience only. Paws and Learn does not guarantee the quality of care they provide their animals nor their professionalism. However, we welcome being updated on any noteworthy experiences with these groups. If you are looking for a breed not mentioned here, go to www.petfinder.com.

Breed Specific Dog Rescues:

Afghan Hound Rescue – 909-305-0552; afghanhound911.com
Airedale Rescue - 805-386-3757; atrarescue.com; has Airedales & Wire Fox Terriers
Tiki Hut Akita Rescue – tikihutakitarescue.com
Alaskan Malamute Rescue – 805-583-8280; alaskanmalamuterescue.com
American Eskimo Dog Rescue – 562-928-4933; heartbandits.com
Australian Shepherd in So. California – 951-943-8830; aussierescuesocal.com
Basenji Rescue – 661-269-2364; basenjirescue.com
Basset Hound Rescue of So. Cal. – 805-524-9353; bhrsc.net
Basset Rescue Connection – 800-411-2388; bassetrescueconnection.org
Beagles & Buddies – 626-444-9664; beaglesandbuddies.com
Belgian Shepherd Rescue – 310-702-2389
Bichons and Buddies – 310-390-8944; bichonsandbuddies.com
Border Collies In Need – 310-547-9574; bordercolliesinneed.org
Boston Buddies Rescue – 310-364-4543; bostonbuddies.org
Boxer Rescue – 213-532-6541; boxer-rescue-la.com
So. Cal Bulldog Rescue – 714-612-0265; socalbulldogrescue.org
American Bull Mastiff Rescue - 626-331-7760
Bull Terrier Rescue of So. Cal. – 818-594-4177; btrescue.us
Adopt a Chow LA – 310-306-2871; adoptachowla.com
Second Chance Cocker Rescue – sbsccr.org; 805-687-4674
(Southland) Collie Rescue – 310-366-5573; collie.org
So. Cal. Dachshund Rescue – 818-795-2201
Dalmatian Rescue of West LA - 310-488-9190; dalrescuela.petfinder.org
Save the Dalmatians – 310-803-5414; savethedals.org
Dobie & Little Paws Rescue – 805-524-5102; dobierescue.org
English Springer Rescue – 818-363-5754; springerrescue.org
German Shepherd Rescue – 818-558-7560; grrescue.org
Westside German Shepherd Rescue of L. A. – 310-202-SAVE; sheprescue.org
German Shepherd Rescue of O.C. – 714-974-7762; gsroc.org
German Shorthaired Pointer Rescue - 510-235-6792
Giant Schnauzer Rescue – 714-893-5821
Golden Retriever Club & Rescue – 818-700-5200; grcglarescue.org
So. Cal. Golden Retriever Rescue - 866-299-1899; scgrrescue.org
Golden Gate Gordon Setter Club Rescue - 707-987-9463;
     petfinder.com/shelters/CA853.html
Great Dane Adoptions & Rescue – 951-279-5100
S.G.V. Great Dane Rescue - 626-963-0935
Great Pyrenees of So. Cal Rescue - 909-887-8201; greatpyrrescue.org
Greyhound Connection - 619-286-4739; greyhoundconnection.org
Adopt-A-Star Greyhound – adoptastar.org (for complete list of CA Greyhound rescues)
Homestretch Greyhound Rescue – 805-797-7706; homestretchgreys.org
Mainly Jack Russell Terriers - 760-749-1871
Jindo Project, Inc. – 888-343-4364; jindoproject.org
So. Cal. Keeshond Rescue - 805-527-4096; foreverkees.org
So. Cal. Labrador Retriever Rescue – 888-554-ALAB; sclrr.org
Leonbergers In Need - 954-725-8968; leosinneedrescue.org
Lhasa Happy Homes – 310-74-LHASA; lhasahappyhomes.org
Little Angels Pug Rescue – 818-548-0411; lapr.org
Internet Miniature Pinscher Service - 877-MIN-pin1; minpinrescue.org
Miniature Schnauzers & Friends Rescue - 310-374-7701; msfr.org
Old English Sheepdog Rescue – 310-392-3366; oesrescue.com
B.A.D. R.A.P. (Pit Bulls) - 510-414-6461;badrap.org
Villalobos Pit Bull Rescue – 661-268-0555; vrcpitbull.com
Pugs ‘N Pals – 949-262-7843; pugdogrescue.com
Little Angels Pug Rescue - 626-795-2944; lapr.org
Rottweiler Rescue of L.A. - 818-765-5997; rottrescuela.org
Second Chance Rottweiler Rescue - 530-753-3281; scrottrescue.com
Samoyed Rescue of So. Cal – 714-956-6180; Samoyed.org
Siberian Husky Haven of L.A. - 661-266-9779; huskyhavenofla.org
Siberian Husky Rescue - socalhuskyrescue.com
Siberians Needing Owners - 509-738-2919; siberiansneedingowners.org
So. Cal. Samoyed Rescue – socalsamoyedrescue.org
Scottie Rescue of So. Cal – 714-893-5821; stccalifornia.org
Southland Sheltie Rescue – 818-996-1269; adoptasheltie.com
Toy Fox Terrier Rescue - atftc.com
Westie Rescue of CA – 619-579-6395; westierescueca.com
Wheaten Terrier Rescue – 714-893-5821
Wire Fox Terriers - 805-386-3757; atrarescue.com; has Wire Fox Terriers & Airedales
Wren Yorkie Rescue - 510-610-0291; hwrenyorkierescue@aol.com

 

Breed Specific Cat Rescues:

California Bengal Cat Rescue – 650-799-4867
Maine Coon Rescue – www.mainecoonrescue.net
Maine Coon Adoptions - 510-482-6179; mainecoonadoptions.com
Helping Persians - 310-409-5086; helpingpersians.com
Persian/Himalayan Rescue of So. Cal. - 805-499-4336
Persians & Friends Rescue – 818-300-7915; (Himalayans, Ragdolls, Abyssinians & others)
So. Cal. Siamese Rescue – 818-830-3380; cs.siameserescue.org
Purebred Plus Cat Rescue - 707-592-8770; persiansplus.org

 

Other Local Dog & Cat Rescues:

Amanda Foundation – 310- 278-2935; amandafoundation.org, dogs and cats
Bill Foundation – 310- 860-0171; billfoundation.org; dogs only
Lange Foundation – 310-473-5585; langefoundation.com; dogs and cats
Marley’s Pit Stop Rescue – 310-995-1221; pitstoprescue.com; dogs only
Molly’s Mutts and Meows – 310-837-MUTT; mollysmuttsandmeows.org; dogs and cats
Much Love Animal Rescue - 310-636-9115; muchlove.org; dogs and cats
Serenity Place Rescue - 818-999-4022; serenityplacerescue.org; cats only

 

Horse Rescue:

Canyon Creek Farm - 661-269-2118; canyoncreekfarm.com